Six (6) Former Livingstone City Councillors Convicted of Corrupt Practices

The Livingstone Subordinate Court has convicted six (6) former Councillors of Livingstone City Council to 1 year imprisonment with hard labour suspended for six months.

The convicts Milford Mambo, Fred Sikazwe, Ziwa Malilo Ziwa, Patrick Makala, Rueben Kakwasha and Stanely Ngoma were arrested by the Anti-Corruption Commission in March 2018 on a charge of abuse of Authority of Office contrary to section 21 (1) of the Anti-Corruption Act No. 3 of 2012.

They were however, found guilty of willful failure to declare interest contrary to section 28 of the same Act.Kalomo Resident Magistrate Likando Matakala sitting at Livingstone Subordinate Court found the six (6) former Councillors guilty of willful failure to declare interest during the process of land allocation at Livingstone City Council and convicted them accordingly.

The sentence of the convicted former Councillors is with effect from 25th March 2021. The other 12 co accused being Fennix Liandisha, Frank Kalindima, Steven Simasintu, Friday Chilufya Nkonde, Aggrey Mulako Njekwa, Saxon Simachembele, Mathew Jere, Liswani Likando, Kabukabu Sikwebele, Choolwe Maunga Lipenga, Dr. Ben Chiyesu and Kingsley Muchindu Siyasinyanga were acquitted.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *